Fifty- A ‘Shaadi’ Story

Fifty- A ‘Shaadi ‘ story

 
 
 
 
Sheesh Mahal,
Lucknow.
 
 
 
 
The transient beams of moonlight slant across her hair, dark as the night. My fingers twitch within the pockets I’ve shoved them in, desire lancing through me again…much as it has done ever since I first laid eyes on her.
 
I still remember that night, when her smile and charm had captivated me from across a crowded room, leaving me incapable of speech for a few moments before I had roused myself enough to go across and introduce myself to the beautiful woman who had done what no one else had done before…brought me to my knees with just one glance.
 
As I watch those dark blue eyes tonight, I realize that I have been lost in my own thoughts for quite some time now, and as a result,  I haven’t yet caught on to the anxiety that has taken over her gaze. While I have been admiring her slim, yet curvy figure encased in bridal white, I have missed the other obvious signs of distress…the hands twisting the fine material of her skirts, and the shifting stance that is so uncharacteristic of her.
 
Ashamed of my own preoccupation , I walk over to her swiftly, then take her hands in mine.
 
 
“Is something wrong?”
 
 
She darts a nervous glance my way, then looks away quickly again.
 
 
“Not really.It’s just that…”
 
 
Her hesitancy alarms me, and I slowly raise her hand to my lips, lingering over the cool metal of the gold band I have placed there a short while earlier.
 
 
“Whatever it is, you know that you can tell me, right?
 
 
Her eyes meet mine again, and this time, her gaze has regained some of the confidence I normally associate with her.
 
 
 
“I guess it’s just the fact that…everything that happens from this moment on is virtually uncharted territory for me. And I’m scared of doing something wrong and embarrassing everyone…”
 
 
At first, I don’t really understand what she means. But when I follow her gaze as it slides over the resplendent wedding finery laid out on the bed, I finally comprehend the source of her anxiety.
 
As the result of  a short-lived affair between a Bollywood actress and an Irish businessman, she has always been caught between two worlds. Living in the United States for most of her adult life while carving out an identity all her own hasn’t altogether diminished the uncertainty that still exists inside her…a fact that is just coming home to me now.
 
Her confidence and grace during the church ceremony this afternoon has certainly fooled me into believing that nothing can possibly faze her, but the anxiety surrounding her like a cloud while we await our Indian wedding ceremony reminds me that all this is very new to her, and now her doubts make sense.
 
I turn her around to face the bed, steeling myself against the pull of desire as her body brushes against mine.
 
There will be time for that later…but not now.
 
 
“This ceremony isn’t complicated at all. And I will be there with you every step of the way, you know that…”
 
 
She sighs, then walks over to run her hand across the gold embroidery of her maroon wedding dress.
 
 
“I know what it entails. When I was little, my mother would tell me these stories of what weddings were like in India…”
 
 
“You miss her today, don’t you?”
 
 
She sighs again.
 
 
“I do. But it’s her choice to make, not mine.”
 
 
For a moment, anger against the self-centered woman who could not be a part of her own daughter’s nuptials because of a vague, conveniently timed illness that prevented her from travelling here overwhelms me, but I reign in the fury, knowing that my task is to calm my bride, not upset her further.
 
 
“She would have been proud of you, just like my family is…”
 
 
She turns to face me with a wistful smile, and once again, the moonlight glances off her dress, making her look ethereal in the dim light.
 
 
“I have learned not to expect too much of her. After all, she never showed any signs of pride when I graduated from culinary school, nor when I set up my own catering company. So why would this be any different?”
 
 
I open my mouth to speak, but she places her fingers over my lips.
 
 
 
“I have come to terms with her disinterest, you know. To her, I’m merely an inconvenient reminder of a scandalous past…”
 
 
“A past you’ve fought against and conquered. And now you are here , with me…looking forward to a beautiful future, I hope…”
 
 
Her lashes veil her eyes for a moment.
 
 
 
“Is it really that simple? “
 
 
“What?”
 
 
She looks up at me again, the blue gaze clouded with uncertainty.
 
 
“Is this really going to be so easy? Do I just…accept that if I wear that gorgeous dress and step out there, your family will react the way you want them to? What if they resent me? What if they look upon me as an intruder, someone who…”
 
 
I laugh.
 
“Where is all this coming from? You have met them, haven’t you? They aren’t monsters, you know.”
 
 
“That’s not what I meant! It’s just that now, when I take my place by your side in this traditional ceremony…it isn’t as if I am truly the conventional bride they’d expected, am I?”
 
 
“I don’t think anyone ever expected me to marry at all, so if they were surprised, it was because of that decision, and certainly not my choice of bride. For years, my family has seen how my work has taken over my life and I’ve had to hear all about how I’m married to my job…so no, they aren’t resentful, I can assure you of that.”
 
 
A speculative light enters her eyes.
 
 
“That’s something else I have been thinking about. Now that I have met them all and seen how everyone contributes to the family business, I’ve been thinking about your work, and how you have taken the offbeat path. Did they never…”
 
 
“…try and talk me out of it? No, they didn’t. Once they saw how passionate I was about law enforcement, they supported me throughout, right up until I became homicide detective with the LAPD.”
 
 
“That’s…wonderful. But that also makes me realize…”
 
 
She draws away from me, and turns towards the mirror set over the antique vanity. Sitting down on the ornate chair before it, she starts unpinning the veil , lost in her thoughts.
 
 
“Realize what?”
 
 
She looks up, startled, and our eyes meet in the  mirror.
 
 
“It made me realize how very little we really know about each other. It suddenly hit me that it has only just been a month since we both met for the first time at that fundraiser…”
 
 
It has been a glorious month, but now I realize that the whirlwind nature of our relationship that has brought us to this point has also given rise to doubts that have chosen this moment to raise their heads.
 
I walk over to the vanity, and place  my hands over her tense shoulders.
 
 
“Are you having doubts about us?”
 
 
Her gaze never leaves mine. “No. But sometimes, I do wonder…how are we so confident that this is right? How do we know for sure?”
 
 
And now, apparently we have come to the heart of the matter.
All her uncertainties, her grief about her mother, her doubts regarding my family…everything  stems from this one question…and I now know that I need to tread carefully here.
 
 
I go  down on my knees beside her, and take her hands in mine.
 
 
“It’s simple, really. I know, because there are fifty reasons why this is right.”
 
 
Her eyes widen. “Fifty?”
 
 
Yes. Do you want to hear them all?”
 
 
I can sense her trying to decide if I am being serious, and in the end, she decides to humor me.
 
 
 
“You could start with a few, I suppose.”
 
 
“Well, to begin with, there’s this…”
 
 
 
I finally do what I have been waiting to do for hours now. 
Leaning down towards her, I take her lips in a deep, drugging kiss. Her gasp of surprise soon turns into an ardent response, and for the next few moments, I lose all sense of time as I relearn the contours of her lips and taste the sweetness of her mouth, relishing the feel of her hands holding me to her.
 
The shrill ring of a phone startles us both, and with an ingrained response honed by years of training, I move back slightly and reach for my phone before I have even consciously registered what I am doing.
 
 
Moments later, when I put down the phone, I realize that we are both still breathing hard.
 
 
“That was a call to remind us that we need to get ready and go downstairs in an hour. “
 
 
She stares at me for a moment, her gaze darkened with passion, and then nods.
 
 
“I should change, then.”
 
 
Her voice is shaky, almost a breathless whisper, and I inwardly rejoice.
 
 
 
“And that, was reason number one.”
 
 
 
Her eyes snap up again. “What?”
 
 
I slowly trace her moist lips with my fingers. “The fire that just sprung up between us? The one that first started when I walked across the room to you a month ago? That is the first reason why this is right.”
 
 
She takes in a deep breath, then smiles. “That is desire. And while I agree that what we have between us is off the charts, surely we can’t expect that to last a lifetime?”
 
 
“But that’s not all there is, is there? Here, turn around.”
 
 
“Why?”
 
 
“So I can help you change, of course. And while I do so, I can go over the other forty-nine reasons.”
 
 
 
This time, she laughs, and my own heart soars when I hear the carefree sound for the first time since we entered this room.
 
 
Lifting her hair over one shoulder, she looks back at me.
 
 
“You should start with those buttons, then. “
 
 
I start on the countless buttons running down the back of her gown, my mind running over all the reasons why I think we are perfect for each other. But no matter how preoccupied I am, I cannot help the instinctive reaction of my body , and I have to frequently stop, taking deep breaths in order to control the clamoring of my own desire for this woman who is now my wife.
 
 
“Reason number two: Just the thought of you makes me smile, and no one has ever done that before.”
 
 
She looks back at me with a shy smile. “You do that to me too. I cannot even begin to count the number of appetizers I destroyed because I was lost in thoughts of you.”
 
 
It is my turn to laugh, and then I realize that I have managed to undo the entire row of tiny buttons running down her back.
 
 
 
“You can stand up now. We can take this gown off…”
 
 
She stands up slowly, and I reach over to her shoulders, then slowly slide the silky confection down her back until it finally lies in a pool at her feet.
 
But the gown no longer holds my attention.
 
My gaze is captured by the vision in the mirror. Clad in lacy white undergarments and garters that nearly stop my heart, she has a potent allure that costs me all my self-control to deny…just for this moment.
 
Bending down , she rolls down her stockings and takes her shoes off at the same time.
 
Clearing my throat, I turn away, heading towards the relative safety of the bed.
 
 
“Why have you  been so adamant about waiting for our wedding night?”
 
 
The question surprises me, and I turn back to face her, realizing that she has followed me to the bed.
 
 
“I thought you were okay with that.”
 
 
She smiles, then reaches up to graze soft fingers over my lips. ” I was. But it hasn’t been…easy. And I’d like to know why.”
 
 
“Because I am traditional in that sense, I guess. And also because…the anticipation would make it worthwhile, in the end. Which is also reason number three.”
 
 
 
“What is?”
 
 
 
“The fact that with you, I found myself thinking and planning about a future, even when we’d barely gone out on one date. I knew, even then, that I wanted to wait.”
 
 
“Which explains all those extensive make-out sessions that led nowhere.”
 
 
That teasing glint I love so much is back in her eyes, and I pull her close, allowing her to feel my arousal.
 
 
 
“It’s going to lead right where I want it to tonight. “
 
 
 
 
A light blush colors her cheeks, and then she leans forward to place a kiss on my lips. “I’ll hold you to that. But for now, I have a wedding to get ready for. Plus, I want to hear more of these reasons of yours.”
 
 
I shake my head, amused by her tenacity. Leaning down, I pick up the heavily embroidered choli and hold it out to her. Between us, we manage to figure out the strings and hooks and buttons holding it in place, and then I slide the lehenga over her legs.
 
 
“Damn. This thing is heavy.”
 
 
She laughs at my expression. “Thousands of women have worn these before me. I’m sure I can, too.”
 
 
I look up at her from my position at her feet. 
 
 
“Yet another reason. Your indomitable spirit. You never give up…and neither do I. Not without giving it a shot.”
 
 
 
Her smile lights up the room as she twirls around, the heavy skirt flying around her.
 
 
 
“This is worth it, you know.”
 
 
 
I straighten up, then reach around her for the first of the equally heavy ancestral jewelry placed there for her. The multiple strands of uncut diamonds make her eyes widen as she views them for the first time.
 
 
“I hope you feel the same when you’ve got all this on, too.”
 
 
 
“Wow. I do hope I can return them safe and sound when we’re done tonight. These look really expensive…”
 
 
I realize that she has misunderstood the gesture.
 
 
“Hey…this isn’t a loan, you know. These are yours, from this day on. They are jewels handed down from generation to generation, and now they belong to you.”
 
 
Me? But I…Oh God. I’m honored. I really should tell your mother how much I appreciate…”
 
 
I place the necklace around her neck, then lean down to place a kiss along the clasp, and her words stumble to a halt.
 
 
 
“Another reason. You appreciate the material things in life…for all the right reasons. You are  a self-made woman, and I know how much you value that. As do I.”
 
 
 
“That was one of the many things that first drew me to you. How you’d made your own way in life…despite being who you really are.”
 
 
“Who I really am, at the moment, is the luckiest man in the world.”
 
 
 
She turns around, then melts into my arms, placing her head against my heart.
 
 
 
“That should really be my line.”
 
 
I pull back slightly, then gently remove the diamond studs from her ears, and then replace them with the earrings laid out on the bed.
 
 
 
“You know what really struck me through the past month we’ve been together? The fact that not once did I feel the need to be anything other than who I really am, with you. I didn’t need to put on a mask, or pretend to be someone I wasn’t. “
 
 
“Neither did I. That goes on your list too, I suppose.”
 
 
 
I grin. “Of course. “
 
 
The bangles are next, and we slide them on together.
 
 
 
As I pick up the first of the rings laid out for her, I notice that her gaze isn’t clouded by doubts anymore.
But now that I’ve started, I want it all laid out before her…no more secrets, not tonight.
 
 
 
“When we’re together…I feel like I am at peace. It’s almost like being in a whirlwind all your life, and suddenly finding that oasis of calm that I have always craved for…without even realizing it.”
 
 
Her eyes widen now. “That’s…that almost felt like you just read my mind. I…well, my past isn’t hidden from you. You know how we moved from place to place, never really setting down roots. So when I met you…it felt like coming home.”
 
 
Her soft, luminous gaze holds me captive, and I bend down to kiss her again.
 
 
When we part, her smile now reaches her eyes.
 
 
I reach down for the last few pieces of jewelry  and we are almost done when I realize that there is one more box lying on the bed.
 
I reach for it, and open it to reveal slender silver anklets encrusted with glittering green stones.
 
 
She gasps, then holds them up before I can do so.
 
 
“There are just so beautiful!”
 
 
She sits down on the bed, then raises one slim foot before fastening the anklet around it. But when she starts on the other, the clasp won’t fasten.
 
 
“Here, allow me.”
 
 
Kneeling down before her, I pull on the clasp a little until it finally falls into place. Straightening up again, I turn her around to face the mirror.
 
I hope that she sees what I do.
 
 
“Do you see it now? The couple there…do you see how perfect we are , together?”
 
 
 
She laughs.
 
 
“Is that one of your reasons? The fact that we look picture-perfect together?”
 
 
“Well…you are beautiful, and plenty of women seem to think I’m not bad-looking, either. So it isn’t a far-fetched assumption, don’t you think?”
 
 
Her laughter rings out again, and she turns in my arms.
 
 
“Isn’t there something missing?”
 
 
 
“Missing?”
 
 
She gestures towards the bed, and I finally see the dupatta lying there.
Taking it in my hands, I place it over her head.
 
 
“There. You’re ready now.”
 
 
 
She raises luminous eyes to mine.
 
 
“I think I really am, now.”
 
 
We both know that she isn’t really speaking about just this ceremony, and her next words confirm that.
 
 
“I think I’ve been ready for this…for you, from a really long time. I just didn’t know it…but now I do.”
 
 
I take her lips in a long, slow kiss, trying to show her without words how much I appreciate the words…and the emotions behind it.
 
 
The sudden burst of firecrackers outside our window makes us part, and we walk over to look at the night sky which is now lit with colored sparks.
 
 
She leans back against me, and I feel some of her returning tension.
 
 
“What is it?”
 
 
 
“Are you sure they don’t mind? I mean, tonight was supposed to be all about them…it’s their anniversary! And now we’ve taken things over with this ceremony…”
 
 
 
“Are you kidding? They are over the moon. You’ll know when you go down there. My family is thrilled that this is going to be a double celebration. “
 
 
 
“I’m glad, then.”
 
 
 
“That’s yet another reason. We both value family…me, because I’ve always had them in my life….”
 
 
 
“…and me, because I’ve never really known what it is like to have one. And now, to have them…and you…it seems like I’ve been granted all my wishes at once, even the ones I never really acknowledged.”
 
 
 
“Do you want to know the biggest reason? Greater than all the fifty put together?”
 
 
 
She turns slightly to face me, her gaze curious.
 
 
 
“The greatest reason?”
 
 
 
“Yes. The reason why we are together…is because we have what they do.”
 
 
 
She follows my gaze and I know that she sees what I do.
 
 
In the light of the fireworks, a couple can be seen by the large, ornamental pool.
The man is standing by a bench, and the woman is seated on it. His stance is protective, and she is leaning towards him slightly.
 
It is the way I have always seen them.
 
 
As we watch, she looks up at him, and as if summoned by an unseen force, he looks down at her too.
 
They say nothing, and they don’t even touch.
 
 
And yet, the power of the emotion that binds them is palpable.
 
 
 
My wife turns in my arms, her gaze now blurred with tears.
 
 
 
“Do you really believe that? That we have what they do? That it will last for as long as it has…for them?”
 
 
 
“Yes. Because that is true love…and so is this. The greatest reason of them all.”
 
 
 
“It is. It really is.”
 
 
 
Just  a few words, but they are enough for me to know that the commitment between us will not be made in any ceremony today…because it has just been made here, in private.
 
 
I kiss her, and then we both turn as one as we view our future…in the faces of the couple below.
 
 
 
 
 
The man, who has made A.R into the billion dollar U.S enterprise it is today, 
 
 
The woman who has stood by his side through it all, loving him…and us, making our family what it is.
 
 
The husband and wife who are celebrating their fiftieth wedding anniversary today, even as we get married in a simultaneous celebration.
 
 
 
My grandparents, Arnav and Khushi Raizada.
 
 
 
 
 
***********************
 
 
 
 
 
A/N:
 
 
Dedicated to the Baaraatis, and their fiftieth thread.
 
 
And also to Arnav and Khushi, the only inspiration that has lasted for years.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
74 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mahrusweety
    Nov 17, 2016 @ 03:56:37

    Beautiful suoerb

    Like

    Reply

  2. Bibliobibulus
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 16:22:17

    Beautiful.. Wow, 50 threads! I’ve never heard of anything like it! Beautiful story, and one last lingering glimpse of Arnav and Khushi.. Loved it.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. albmum14
    Nov 11, 2015 @ 22:27:49

    How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. 
    I love thee to the depth and breadth and height 
    My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight 
    For the ends of Being and ideal Grace. 
    I love thee to the level of every day’s 
    Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight. 
    I love thee freely, as men strive for Right; 
    I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise. 
    I love with a passion put to use 
    In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith. 
    I love thee with a love I seemed to lose 
    With my lost saints, — I love thee with the breath, 
    Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose, 
    I shall but love thee better after death.

    by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

    Such a beautiful tender piece about a young couple starting their new life together. I thought it was about A & K first, and found out only in the end that it was about their grandson. It’s the imagination that your writing brings forth in me that even without the names there were enough hints of them to make me think that is for them.
    That care that the husband is showing for his young bride is so exhilarating that I wish to be her in that moment. It’s astounding what the magic of love can do: erase all boundaries and let hope and trust take their place in cementing this union.
    And such a mesmerising ending…the young couple wishing for that special love that the grandparents were sharing. The most breathtaking conclusion that their story should have.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. anu1017
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 00:57:44

    Loved the OS Juhi!! Miss your stories, please do write when you get time!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. awroneema
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 17:18:19

    juhi you have no idea how badly i was missing u…the shaadi..nd the baraati days..thnk god i stumble upon this OS..nd cud relive the journey..thank u for writing again…luvd it

    plz keep writing arhi whn ever tine permits..

    with luv
    awroneema..a baraati from the biggest shaadi of the millenium.. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Happypeace
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 18:19:47

    This was beautiful!
    I miss shaadi but well this one shot was very pleasant surprise.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. EimenEnchanted
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 15:22:24

    This is absolutely beautiful ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  8. fictionloveruv
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 16:16:29

    Hey there…
    Just came across this OS…
    It’s wonderful! I loved the couple in question…was wondering how they’re connected to Arnav-Khushi of Shaadi….
    It was a pleasant surprise to know they’re their grandchildren. It’s such a beautiful, romantic thought…to imagine them together and in love for fifty long years!!!
    Lovely little story….
    I’m so glad you came back to write ArHi even if it’s just this OS…Miss your writing.
    I hope you get the time and inspiration to get back to writing soon! Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  9. amiarisme
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 20:10:45

    wowwwwwwww.
    it was so surreal , so hypnotizing and so beautiful.
    loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  10. momoahmd
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 18:04:57

    wowww…
    really hats off to u dear…
    beautiful story…
    enjoyed reading every bit ov it….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. madhurao1210
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 04:46:22

    missing your writing.. any hope to see new arshi story from you in 2015?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  12. madhurao1210
    Feb 06, 2015 @ 04:45:57

    wow!! unexpected this update from u.. glad to see this..

    50th Anniversary along with their grandson’s wedding..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  13. Roma_khanam
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 09:57:49

    It was simply beautiful. Thanks for the email.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  14. Roma_khanam
    Feb 05, 2015 @ 09:56:52

    It was lovely reading it, thanks for the email.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  15. rk2127
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 20:02:55

    No names, no descriptions and your style of suspense. Yet it hooked me to the couple as if I knew them all there life’s and there love story well. And a fifty to the best Jodi ever. You kept there love alive and still flourishing with new generation.

    Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  16. JesiC
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 19:28:24

    wonderful story juhi.. loved it

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  17. Eccentrica
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 12:22:42

    Wow, J, that was a sweet way of commemorating Shaadi and the Baraatis thread.

    It didn’t matter that the OS wasn’t about Arnav and Khushi…there were things that bound it to them.

    I remember one of your OSs in Dhadkanein wherein Arnav and divested Khushi’s jewellery one by one. A reverse of the same through this OS was also wonderful.

    Nice to have you back 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  18. sweetydoll32
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 21:44:31

    Superb dear loved it

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  19. msmarple
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 03:52:07

    Wonderful story Juhi.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  20. sandeepika
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 03:26:04

    Juhi..please take a bow!

    This has to be one of your best writings ever!

    Completely Speechless..thus is simply outstanding!

    What a gift for the baarati’s..fifty claps from my side!

    On a sep note, hope all’s well.. And a big thx for this amazing story.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  21. pinkly (IF Id)
    Jan 28, 2015 @ 05:01:17

    Juhi, liked this story very much. As I was reading this story I got the feeling that the boy and the girl are not Arnav and Khushi. So beautifully written. The way boy gives all the right reasons to the girl and makes her feel special was so nicely written. I enjoyed reading it. Do write more stories on Arshi.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  22. theincorrigiblemagpie
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 21:17:30

    Kya boloon ab, Juhi?

    Tumne toh mujhe rula hi diya. 😥

    You know what this story feels like? It feels like that last episode of IPK with the montage of Arnav and Khushi’s epic story and I feel like IPK ended all over again.

    Shaadi is special. Not just because you’re constantly reinventing yourself and experimenting with different genres even within the umbrella of fan fiction, but also because it is officially the last ArHi story that you wrote.
    Shaadi had been your version of an MnB style story, and yet, it was nothing like any MnB I’ve ever read (and I assure you, I have inexplicably read a fair few). Shaadi’s Arnav and Khushi, while styled like an MnB couple, had so much more depth and substance to them. They had real issues with real repercussions and no magical epiphanies or convenient solutions. They fought tooth and nail to get to where they are– and were pretty much the epitome of a relationship that cannot be named.
    I loved Shaadi for Arnav and Khushi’s take on that silly contract marriage, for their explosive chemistry, for their independent lives, for Arnav’s inability to confess to love, for Khushi’s inability to see beyond her perceived faults, for Sheetal (LOL), for Anjali and Shyam-whom-everyone-thought-was-a-bad-guy-but-was-not, for paagal Payal (who wasn’t entirely at fault), for a less-than-stellar-Garima, for a kickass Lavanya and NK (as always) and this intricately woven story about all these flawed people.
    I know exactly how hard you worked to write something that appears so effortless, and it was so so worth it!
    You are one of my favouritest writers on this forum and I don’t think anything is ever going to change that. The way I eagerly swallowed this story about an unnamed, faceless couple is a testament to that. I know you’ve moved on from ArHi, but I hope your AD lets you write again soon and whether it be on a blog or in a book somewhere, I’ll be waiting to read and creepily whisper ‘res’ to the kaaynath.

    There couldn’t have been a better way to kick off the 50th thread for the Baaraatis and I hope the party goes on and aunty puliss bulalegi toh yaar tera kar lega handle.

    (SOMEONE STOP ME.)

    Kay, bye.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  23. sudhaguda
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 16:47:26

    Juhi thanks for wonderful story on occasion of 50 threads
    Arnav and Khushi 50 years of togetherness and celebrating golden jubilee
    Loved how Arnav and Khushi growing old together and his grandson taking inspiration from them of “Hamesha togetherness”
    I surprised to know actually he is Arnav and Khushi’s grandson who is preparing to travel the love road his grandparents crossed..
    Loved how he helped her in getting dressed as bride and loved what he said
    “The reason why we are together…is because we have what they do.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  24. Love_for_serial
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 04:41:56

    I was overjoyed to see the mail, and delighted to read this OS.
    I hope this is a comeback for you, as we all can’t stay away from Arshi’s Magic.
    Beautifully written piece, as you are master of it.
    Hoping for getting another surprise soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Do let me know what you think...

Archives

Follow Shaadi on WordPress.com

Next Update!

No upcoming events

